Write to your MP

Not sure where to start? We've got you covered with our handy template. Just copy and paste the text below into a Word doc and fill in the blanks! Use the contacts list below to send your letter far and wide. The more letters they receive the harder they are to ignore :)

MP's Name: (Choose from our list of Local, State and Federal MP's below)
 

MP's address: (Copy and paste address of MP here)
Your address and Contact Phone Number:

(most MPs require this before they will action your letter)


Dear (Insert MP's full name),


Tell them who you are and why you are writing:

 

For example, I am a farmer/parent/resident living in (Your suburb and state) and I am concerned about the proposal for a waste-to-energy incinerator at Tarago.


Tell them why you are concerned:

 

For example, your concerns about the potential for:

  • contamination of farmlands and livestock

  • impact on the health of your family, children, neighbours, friends

  • contamination of your tank water and dams

  • contamination of our food chain and locally grown food and crops

  • impact on the environment and biodiversity

  • concerns with the current operations at the Veolia bio-reactor

  •  impact on your local business

  • impact on climate change and its contribution to global warming

  • dumping Sydney's waste out of sight in the regions

  • increased impact on local roads

  • loss of jobs in farming and related industries

  • loss of farm organic certification

 

Tell them why these concerns are so important to you:

For example, you have small children, you are a 4th  generation farmer, you've just spent 7 years and your life savings building up your farm/business, etc.

Tell them what you would like them to do:

If writing to the local council

For example, I want you to oppose the development, submit a response to the EIS, conduct an awareness campaign, pass a motion prohibiting their waste from being sent for incineration, provide funding to local opposition put signs up, promote the petition, work with the ACT Government and other councils to coordinate a regional response, etc.
 

If writing to the State Government MP

For example, I want you to oppose the development, support a bill to oppose waste incineration, leverage relevant ministers, speak against the development in Parliament, attend a community meeting, raise the matter with the media, speak to the EPA about why this location was selected as a priority location for waste-to-energy incineration, oppose the EPA draft regulation naming Tarago as a priority location for WTE incineration, etc.

 

If writing to the Federal Government

For example, I want you to take action to oppose the development, make a public statement opposing the development, attend a community meeting, speak on the matter in Parliament, raise the matter with the media, work publicly with the State representative to oppose the development, etc. Thank them for any work they may have already done. Ask that your letter also be forwarded to the relevant Ministers for a response. (This makes sure the relevant cabinet minister is also aware of your concerns and opposition to the proposal).
 

Yours sincerely

(Insert your name and those of your family)

Local Councillors

 

Queanbeyan-Palerang

Kenrick Winchester (Mayor)  

Cr.Kenrick.Winchester@qprc.nsw.gov.au

02 6285 6299

 

Esma Livermore (Deputy Mayor)

Cr.Esma.Livermore@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 737 195

 

Katrina Willis

Cr.Katrina.Willis@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 728 832

Louise Burton

Cr.Louise.Burton@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 753 620

 

Bryce Wilson

Cr.Bryce.Wilson@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 789 167

 

Jacqueline Ternouth

Cr.Jacqueline.Ternouth@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0408 788 268

 

Mareeta Grundy

Cr.Mareeta.Grundy@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 754 832

 

Steve Taskovski

Cr.Steve.Taskovski@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 799 574

 

Edwina Webster

Cr.Edwina.Webster@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 852 039

 

Michele Biscotti

Cr.Michele.Biscotti@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 761 069

 

John Preston

Cr.John.Preston@qprc.nsw.gov.au

0407 741 402

 

Goulburn-Mulwaree

 

Peter Walker (Mayor)

peter.walker@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0418 215 184

 

Andrew Banfield

andrew.banfield@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0427 130 298

 

Andy Wood

andy.wood@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0490 037 421

 

Bob Kirk

bob.kirk@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0419 854 599

 

Carol James

carol.james@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0418 342 501

 

Daniel Strickland

daniel.strickland@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0490 036 241

 

Jason Shepherd

jason.shepherd@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0490 036 157

 

Michael Prevedello

michael.prevedello@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0490 033 792

 

Steven Ruddell

steven.ruddell@goulburn.nsw.gov.au

0490 033 756

 

Upper Lachlan

 

Pam Kensit (Mayor)

PKensit@upperlachlan.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 02 4836 5203

Mobile: 0400 360 331

 

Mandy McDonald (Deputy Mayor)

MMcdonald@upperlachlan.nsw.gov.au

Mobile: 0435 243 080

 

Darren O'Brien

DOBrien@upperlachlan.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 02 4832 0501

Mobile: 0409 821 003

 

John Searl
JSearl@upperlachlan.nsw.gov.au
Phone: 02 4845 6337
Mobile: 0405 060 347

 

Jo Marshall

JMarshall@upperlachlan.nsw.gov.au

Mobile: 0408 976 070

 

Lauren Woodbridge

LWoodbridge@upperlachlan.nsw.gov.au

Mobile: 0435 511 951

 

Paul Culhane

PCulhane@upperlachlan.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0410 622 798

 

Susan Reynolds

Mobile:0414 464 206

SReynolds@upperlachlan.nsw.gov.au

 

Yass Valley

Allan McGrath (Mayor)

AMcGrath@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0427 830 910

Jasmin Jones (Deputy Mayor)

JJones@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone:0400 486 616

Adrian Cameron

ACameron@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0418 288 056

Councillor Cayla Pothan

CPothan@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0447 225 524

Cecil Burgess OAM

CBurgess@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0429 930 628

Jim Abbey

JAbbey@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0409 040 835

 

Kim Turner

KTurner@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0407 489 570

 

Kristin Butler

KButler@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0433 246 045

 

Mike Reid

Email: MReid@yass.nsw.gov.au

Phone: 0412 078 475

 

NSW Government

 

Monaro

Nichole Overall MP

Parliamentary email yet to be confirmed. Interim contact:

info@nswnationals.org.au

(02) 9299 5811
1800 672 263

 

Goulburn

Wendy Tuckerman, MP
Office:

Shops 1 and 2
167-173 Auburn Street
GOULBURN NSW 2580

 

Postal address:

The Hon. Wendy Tuckerman MP
PO Box 168
GOULBURN NSW 2580

 

(02) 4822 6444

(02) 4822 6400

goulburn@parliament.nsw.gov.au

 

 

ACT Government

Andrew Barr MLA – Chief Minister, ACT
barr@act.gov.au
(@AndrewBarrACTChiefMinister)

Shane Rattenbury MLA – Minister for Water, Energy and Emissions Reduction and Leader of the ACT Greens
rattenbury@act.gov.au
(@ShaneRattenburyMLA)

Rebecca Vassarotti MLA – Minister for the Environment
vassarotti@act.gov.au
(@RebeccaVasarottiMLA)

Nicole Lawder – ACT Shadow Minister for Environment, Heritage and Water
lawder@parliament.act.gov.au

(@NicoleLawderMLA)

 

Federal Government

 

Eden-Monaro
 

Kristy McBain MP

Electorate Office 1 (Principal Office)

1/21-25 Monaro Street
Queanbeyan, NSW, 2620

Postal address;
PO Box 214
Queanbeyan, NSW, 2620

Telephone:

(02) 6284 2442

Kristy.McBain.MP@aph.gov.au

 

Hume

Angus Taylor MP

Electorate Office 1 (Principal Office)
7 Montague Street
Goulburn, NSW, 2580

Postal address
PO Box 21
Camden, NSW, 2570

Telephone:

(02) 4658 7188


angus.taylor.mp@aph.gov.au

 
 
 
3 children holding signs saying 'We say no to toxic waste incinerator'